Saraki, Dogara, 51 others are guilty of political iniquity — Court

A Federal High Court, Abuja yesterday declared that the Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon Yakubu Dogara and 51 other federal lawmakers committed political iniquity when they decamped from their respective political parties prior to the 2015 general election and they ought to be kept in political asylum.

Justice Okon Abang, in a judgement he delivered yesterday in a suit filed by an advocacy group under the aegis of Legal Defence and Assistance Project, LEDAP to declare their seats vacant said that the federal lawmakers defected when their political parties needed them most.

With barely 23 days to the expiration of the lifespan of the 8th National Assembly, the affected lawmakers however narrowly escaped the judicial hammer, as the court dismissed the suit as it was not filed by a valid plaintiff.

Though the court held that Saraki and 52 other federal lawmakers acted in breach of section 68 (1) (g) of the 1999 Constitution, as amended, it however declined to sack them from the National Assembly on the premise that the plaintiff, LEDAP, lacked the locus standi to file the suit.

Out of 54 federal lawmakers who decamped from their respective political parties prior to the 2015 general election, who were cited as defendants in the matter, Justice Abang, held that only the former Minority Leader of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, would have survived the wrath of the law if the suit was properly filed.

Justice Abang said he would have ordered the lawmakers to immediately vacate their seats and refund all the salaries they received from the day they decamped from political parties that sponsored them into the National Assembly, assuming the suit was brought by a valid plaintiff.

Spread the love

Facebook Comments